Atlas subluxation and ADHD

Please note this post was edited in December 2012.

What we have here is some interesting data.

I was diagnosed with ADHD at age 46, and to be fair, I was a perfect fit for the diagnosis, right down to the deterioration in frontal lobe blood flow when I tried to concentrate.

I present here the SPECT scans that support that claim.

What is interesting however, is that when the “test data” were taken I was hunched over a computer, doing my best to really “hunker down” and concentrate on the problem at hand.

I assert here that the abnormality in blood flow was not due to any essential “wiring defect” in my brain, but in fact was a direct consequence of the stress response to challenge, and the posturing I adopted as  a response to the stress response. The reason I assert this is that as soon as my atlas subluxation was fixed, and I learned to sit up in front of the computer- my concentration problems vanished. Equally, research data can be found that supports this idea that the classic blood flow changes seen in ADHD, in fact closely resemble those seen in a stress situation.

When I was diagnosed with ADHD my Jasper Goldberg score was 107 out of a maximum possible 120. Following Atlas Profilax treatment, which allowed me to learn meditation, my  score declined to  6/120.

More recently I suffered a severe life crisis with a depressive episode, and for a time have had some return of some ADD symptoms, though my overall focus remains far better  when I am not subject to any major stressors.

On these scans yellow, blue and green represent increasingly subnormal function.

The difference between the baseline and the test data, in fact is the classic change expected in ADHD.

Baseline data 1

Test data 1

About MindBody

See site
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Atlas subluxation and ADHD

  1. WOW! This looks like a GREAT resource!
    I”m up late (finishing a post on Amygdala Hijack, interestingly enough, since Goleman is a huge proponent of Mindfulness). Following a “blink” somewhere away from my center of focus, I saw that somebody “liked” something about ADDandSoMuchMore — I clicked, and here I am!

    I’ll be back – probably to find a few “Related Posts” for this particular article – which I can see already needs to be a series. Thanks for visiting (especially since you “liked” 🙂 )

    Madelyn Griffith-Haynie, SCAC, MCC – (blogging at ADDandSoMuchMore and ADDerWorld – dot com!)

    • Madelyn,
      the amygdala stuff is intriguing. My kinesiologist is teaching me some basic strategies to use self administered acupressure to down regulate amygdala overactivity.

      I need to do more work on this resource. I am receiving some specific neurological rehabilitation to use movement to address some of the frontal lobe under arousal associated with ADHD. It is very simple, low demand stuff- if you can find a practitioner smart enough to know what he is doing.

  2. Keep ME in the loop on your neuro-rehab and arousal (and sing out if you locate ANYTHING related to activation!) I am coming up with dead ends galore – even “inertia” yields no fruit for my particular cocktail!

    BTW- Some of the EFT (“tapping”) stuff seems to point to amygdala down-regulation success. Still haven’t had time to investigate whether it’s simply another “pattern interrupt” (which DO work, but not *exactly* via down-regulation), or whether the meridian tapping adds another level that does more then “simply” rewiring.
    xx,
    mgh — Madelyn Griffith-Haynie, SCAC, MCC – (blogging at ADDandSoMuchMore and ADDerWorld – dot com!)

  3. Back again (9/13) – the difference in your “up-regulation” scans is significant, and a recent “postural” post left in a comment on a Sleep Post on ADDandSoMuchMore.com has me back to read your posts through that particular lens.

    It really DOES “take a village to educate a world” — thanks for being part of mine!

    xx,
    mgh
    Madelyn Griffith-Haynie, CMC, SCAC, MCC
    – ADD Coach Training Field founder; ADD Coaching co-founder –
    (blogs: ADDandSoMuchMore, ADDerWorld & ethosconsultancynz – dot com)
    “It takes a village to transform a world!”

Leave a Reply

